Of iPods and Life


Two or three weeks ago when I reformatted the hard drive on my laptop I found myself in the “fine position” of having discovered that I had lost a bunch of files that I though I had backed up.

I spent some time trying to pull the missing data off of the DVDs that I had used to back up my computer but was unable to recover it there. Some of it was found in pristine condition upon the two external hard drives (yeah, I am anal about backing things up) that I use but that didn’t cover everything.

While working on the recovery it occurred to me I might have some of the missing files on my “old” iPod.

The “old” iPod was a gift for my 35th birthday and is filled with some playlists I made a number of years ago with the descriptive titles of A New Beginning 1-6. It was fun flipping through those lists and thinking about what was going on in my life when I made them.

Definitely among the happier moments.

Over time I stopped using that iPod and the playlists weren’t transferred to the iPod and phones that followed, but I never stopped listening to the music or singing those songs.

In case you are curious here is a sample of what is located on those lists:

  • Sabbath Prayer- Fiddler on The Roof Soundtrack
  • Californication- Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Come Talk To Me- Peter Gabriel
  • Homeward Bound- Simon and Garfunkel
  • Tougher Than The Rest- Bruce Springsteen
  • Crazy Little Thing Called Love- Queen
  • All I Ask Of You- Phantom Of The Opera
  • Cherry, Cherry- Neil Diamond
  • Ring of Fire- Johnny Cash
  • Do You Wanna Hold Me?- Bow Wow Wow

Here we are now, a chunk of years later and that much more experienced with the things that life can throw at a person. Funny to look at it all and feel like I have fallen down the rabbit hole and climbed out the other side.

I know more about myself and what I want/need than I ever did. Something tells me that the timing of the “rediscovery” of this iPod is going to line up nicely with some other “rediscoveries.”

Leave a Reply

