The First Person To Say I Love You Part II


You were the first person to say it, madam clock changer.  Had a stomachache in the middle of the night that woke me up, kept me up…for hours.

Wasn’t sure why, been forever since something like that happened. Thought about whether I should go see someone…out here. Decided to wait and see what would happen. Gutted it out so to speak.

Was curious if I could tie it into something I ate or something else. Took a little while but it transitioned and I took care of my business. Eventually I went back to sleep and when I woke up I felt a bit tired, but all was normal again.

Maybe it was the Corky and Lenny’s crap or maybe I didn’t cook my steak as well as I could have.

I wrote the experience off as just a moment in time.

But when I went out that day I heard you yelling at me for not taking care of it the way you would have liked. Guess something about that incident reminded me of a conversation long since past. Thought about it for a few, shrugged my shoulders and went about my way.

I do what I have to do because that is just who I am. It is who I was and who I am going to be.

You can say what you want and do what you want but I know what I know. I hear the goddamn echoes of the past ringing here in the present and it makes sense to me when nothing makes sense to me.

Don’t ask me to try and explain that to you because I won’t. You have your 10,000 questions and your ideas and they’ll stay as they are until such time as they change or things change.

What I know for certain is that you said you loved me first and sometimes the more things change the more they stay the same.

Ain’t life grand.

Leave a Reply

