Music Reaches The Heart


Deep in the land of the lost and dreams of other times I wander blindly with my ear to the ground and my arms outstretched.

Reaching, climbing, hoping and pushing to get where I need to be be.

Music carries us from where we stand to the heights we no longer admit we wish to stand upon.

Triumph is followed by tragedy and we are forced to confront that which we had hoped to avoid and ignore.

Haunted masses try to pull us down and we work to free ourselves from their grasp.

It is a battle we fight first as individuals. We cannot open the eyes of another to see the doors that exist and we walk forward on our own.

In time perhaps eyes will be opened and hands will be held so that instead of one two shall walk together.

The combination of the feminine and masculine carving a path that shines so brightly we cannot believe we once were blind to its existence.

I Dreamed A Dream

There was a time when men were kind
When their voices were soft
And their words inviting
There was a time when love was blind
And the world was a song
And the song was exciting
There was a time
Then it all went wrong

I dreamed a dream in times gone by
When hope was high
And life worth living
I dreamed that love would never die
I dreamed that God would be forgiving
Then I was young and unafraid
And dreams were made and used and wasted
There was no ransom to be paid
No song unsung
No wine untasted
But the tigers come at night

With their voices soft as thunder
As they tear your hope apart
And they turn your dream to shame
He slept a summer by my side
He filled my days with endless wonder
He took my childhood in his stride
But he was gone when autumn came
And still I dream he’ll come to me
That we’ll live the years together
But there are dreams that cannot be
And there are storms we cannot weather
I had a dream my life would be
So much different from this hell I’m living
So different now from what it seemed
Now life has killed
The dream I dreamed.

All I Ask Of You

(Raoul)
No more talk of darkness
Forget these wide-eyed fears
I’m here, nothing can harm you
My words will warm and calm you

Let me be your freedom
Let daylight dry your tears
I’m here, with you, beside you
To guard you and to guide you

(Christine)
Say you’ll love me every waking moment
Turn my head with talk of summer time
Say you need me with you now and always
Promise me that all you say is true
That’s all I ask of you

[Raoul]
Let me be your shelter
Let me be your light
You’re safe, no one will find you
Your fears are far behind you

[Christine]
All I want is freedom
A world with no more night
And you, always beside me
To hold me and to hide me

[Raoul]
Then say you’ll share with me one love, one lifetime
Let me lead you from your solitude
Say you need me with you here, beside you
Anywhere you go, let me go too
Christine, that’s all I ask of you

[Christine]
Say you’ll share with me one love, one lifetime
Say the word and I will follow you

[Both]
Share each day with me, each night, each morning

[Christine]
Say you love me

[Raoul]
You know I do

[Both]
Love me, that’s all I ask of you.

(They kiss. Raoul lifts Christine off her feet, into his arms and holds her)

[Both]
Anywhere you go, let me go too
Love me, that’s all I ask of you

[Phantom]
I gave you my music, made your song take wing.
And now, how you’ve repaid me, denied me and betrayed me.
He was bound to love you, when he heard you sing.
(sobs)Christine, Christine.

[Both]
Say you’ll share with me one love, one lifetime
Say the word and I will follow you
Share each day with me, each night, each morning…

[Phantom]
You will curse the day you did not do all that the Phantom asked of you!

Leave a Reply

