Things You Don’t Want To Talk About


Five minutes of writing- may or may not be used for something

There are words here that are tied into ideas that you don’t want to talk about because when you shine a light on these “problem areas” you find complications that you’d rather not have yet are glad you do. It is because when you said you would never forgive me for not finding you sooner you meant it.

There were times when you hated the feeling of being consumed and tied so closely to another. Moments where you wanted to stick a needle in your eye because you couldn’t stand to see what was clear. You didn’t want to be called perfect because you didn’t like being held to a standard you didn’t think you deserved and yet it warmed your heart to know someone accepted you.

You wondered how a man and woman could be so close and have so much in common while having nothing in common. Contradictions abounded and the logic you wanted just didn’t exist to support things, but somehow the foundation was built.

And in your heart you knew that this was enough to last a lifetime, but it wasn’t something you felt you could say or believe anymore because of the contradictions. It didn’t come about in the right way, in the proper way and because it developed in an odd manner that wasn’t supported in a way that felt completely comfortable it make it awkward and uncomfortable.

When you don’t care what most people think you are tied in closely to the feelings of those few you do care about because you never want to hurt them.

And so these words are bandied about, quotes are shared, ideas expounded and debated upon and somewhere in the middle of it all time stands still.

If you don’t think and just feel things are good, things are special, things are amazing and you feel the walls that were assembled on all sides start to crumble.

“I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where. I love you simply, without problems or pride: I love you in this way because I do not know any other way of loving but this, in which there is no I or you, so intimate that your hand upon my chest is my hand, so intimate that when I fall asleep your eyes close.”
― Pablo Neruda100 Love Sonnets

 

“Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind,
And therefore is winged Cupid painted blind.”
― William ShakespeareA Midsummer Night’s Dream

 

“You don’t love someone because they’re perfect, you love them in spite of the fact that they’re not.”
― Jodi PicoultMy Sister’s Keeper

 

“Dumbledore watched her fly away, and as her silvery glow faded he turned back to Snape, and his eyes were full of tears.
“After all this time?”
“Always,” said Snape.”
― J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

 

“We fell in love, despite our differences, and once we did, something rare and beautiful was created. For me, love like that has only happened once, and that’s why every minute we spent together has been seared in my memory. I’ll never forget a single moment of it.”
― Nicholas SparksThe Notebook

 

“I carry your heart with me (I carry it in my heart)I am never without it (anywhere
I go you go,my dear; and whatever is done by only me is your doing,my darling)
I fear no fate (for you are my fate,my sweet)I want no world (for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud and the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

I carry your heart (I carry it in my heart)”
― E.E. Cummings

 
“Once upon a time there was a boy who loved a girl, and her laughter was a question he wanted to spend his whole life answering.”
― Nicole KraussThe History of Love

 

“When you trip over love, it is easy to get up. But when you fall in love, it is impossible to stand again.”
― Albert Einstein

“if you expect to succeed as a writer, rudeness should be the second-to-least of your concerns. The least of all should be polite society and what it expects. If you intend to write as truthfully as you can, your days as a member of polite society are numbered, anyway.”
― Stephen KingOn Writing

“There is no rule on how to write. Sometimes it comes easily and perfectly; sometimes it’s like drilling rock and then blasting it out with charges.”
― Ernest Hemingway

“When writing a novel a writer should create living people; people not characters. A character is a caricature.”
― Ernest Hemingway

“Of all forms of caution, caution in love is perhaps the most fatal to true happiness.”
― Bertrand RussellThe Conquest of Happiness

“You can’t be brave if you’ve only had wonderful things happen to you.”
― Mary Tyler Moore

“I, with a deeper instinct, choose a man who compels my strength, who makes enormous demands on me, who does not doubt my courage or my toughness, who does not believe me naïve or innocent, who has the courage to treat me like a woman.”
― Anaïs Nin

Leave a Reply

