Trust Your Gut


cow2

Every time I see this I can’t help but laugh. Been a rough chunk of time and I have wondered from moment to moment about it all.

Around two weeks ago I started thinking about Hancock and couldn’t figure out why. Kept seeing flashes of the final battle in the hospital and hearing Death and Transfiguration (soundtrack) and couldn’t quite make out why.

So I watched the clip several times and then found part to put here.

A couple hours ago I realized that a year ago I was driving to Texas to start a new life and I started thinking a bit about a lot of different things. Spent a couple of minutes thinking about Friday Night Lights and how it tied into everything too, thought about the part in the trailer where it talks about falling and being tested.

Somewhere in the midst of all this thought I went back to listening to Death and Transfiguration and thought about how it moves from sad to triumphant.

Thought about how things tie into writing and thought about my grandparents sitting on their recliners, just holding hands and decided it was time to go back to my gut.

Time to remember how I got to be who I am and who I want to become. Got a long road to walk and plenty of time to prepare the fields for the crops I want to raise, but nothing good comes without a risk.

So here I am, picking myself up because no one else can and I don’t want to do it unless I can stand on my own.

But there is no doubt in my mind that I am halfway there and that if I trust my gut and follow my nose I will get there. The path is marked, even when I can’t quite see it in the dark.

4 thoughts on “Trust Your Gut

Leave a Reply

