Miscommunication


“When life gives you lemons, don’t make lemonade. Make life take the lemons back! Get mad! I don’t want your damn lemons, what the hell am I supposed to do with these? Demand to see life’s manager! Make life rue the day it thought it could give Cave Johnson lemons! Do you know who I am? I’m the man who’s gonna burn your house down! With the lemons! I’m gonna get my engineers to invent a combustible lemon that burns your house down!” Cave Johnson

I love old Cave Johnson which is why he is in the post before this. Some people have asked if I believe in the perspective Mr. Johnson is promoting here but I don’t know what they are talking about.

That is not me being coy, it is me trying to avoid miscommunication and misunderstanding.

Is this about having a take-no-prisoners and storm-the-castle attitude than I suppose you can say I agree. If you say it is about having a good attitude and being certain you’ll figure out a way to overcome the hurdles you face than I agree with that too.

The way I figure things the stuff that bothers me the most now comes from miscommunication. It comes from conversations that should have happened and didn’t and from fear people had to have certain conversations.

Experience has shown me time and time again that face-to-face conversation kills a lot of these issues, not all because some times you get stuck dealing with jackasses and trolls.

And if you are really lucky sometimes you get stuck dealing with people who insert themselves into situations because they think they are acting on behalf of a jackass or troll.

But sometimes if you suspend your displeasure and anger and take a chance you find that you are pleasantly surprised.

Always better to try and fail than fail to try.

And that my friends is how I sleep at night.

Reading material:

Leave a Reply

