Clear Talk


A buddy of mine told me he wants to divorce his wife but won’t do it until his kids are in college. He said they have been to counseling and tried to do what they can to save the marriage but he thinks it is done and dead.

So he intends to hold on for another nine years and then he’ll ‘cut her loose.’

I asked him if he really thinks he can hold on that long and he said he can do it for the kids. When he asked me what I thought I told him I hope he doesn’t drop dead before then.

It wasn’t meant to be rude or obnoxious but I don’t know if he really understood that. Nor was I trying to be insouciant or uncaring.

I just couldn’t say nothing, not this time.

Leave a Reply

