There Is No Question


“I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
Only I will remain.” Dune

Overslept today and missed an important meeting. Took a moment for me to wake up and realize what had happened because at first I was convinced that the clock was wrong, how could it be 9 AM.

I rarely oversleep and I don’t miss meetings especially when I know about them in advance. I did and I did. Overslept and missed a meeting I knew about in advance.

Didn’t panic but didn’t feel good. Had a few moments where I wanted to slap myself silly but saw no real point or benefit to it. Took a few minutes to clear my mind and right the ship, but I did it.

It was still a painful day, just a lot of hard crap to deal with and I felt like most of it was unnecessary but ultimately I powered through it and found my center.

Reminded myself that I am built to last and am capable of meeting the challenge and once I did that I found my smile. The funny thing about aging is that when I was younger I didn’t worry about most of the challenges I have faced or am facing. Just didn’t cross my mind.

But now I am so much stronger, mentally and emotionally tougher so I am ready to take it all on. Might not want to or be interested in some of it, but if it comes I can and I will.

There is no question in my mind that I will find a way and that I am heading in the right direction. Would like to feel more peace of mind than I do now, but that will come and there are benefits to this edge.

And now, some links to share:

2 thoughts on “There Is No Question

  1. You had me at “I must not fear ….”
    After all these years of seeing that taped to my office wall, I get it. It’s about controlling our minds and our thoughts. Of course. that’s easy for me to say, harder to actually do it.
    BTW – just got my copy of the latest Dune series book, Mentats of Dune. It’s one of the highlights of my summer 🙂

Leave a comment